love yourself

Reflections, rants, problem areas, and meatballs!

Hey oh! How is everyone? I’m doing pretty well, ready for the sun to shine a little more but hey, whatevs. So I was reflecting on my last blog post and just kinda felt a little “ew” about it. I pretty much feel that way anytime I post this personal stuff but something keeps me coming back to the keyboard. During this reflection time, I just wanted to punch myself in the face and say, “Enough, already!” I’m so tired of being SO focused on what to eat, what not to eat, blah, blah, blah. I know, for the most part, what makes me feel my best and what doesn’t. HowboutI stick mainly to what feels good and save the latter for moments I really want whatever I want? Ok, problem solved.

On to the next thing.

Can we ALL please start loving our bodies and where they currently reside? Please? I love working out, pushing myself, and having physical goals that I’m striving towards. I have put in a lot of work to be happy with what I see when I look in the mirror (this verse always helps) and understand that that is not where everyone is at. However, I’m so tired of hearing people rag on their bodies and then have “supportive” people chime in and give them tips on how to continue this downward spiral. I get it, it’s almost swimsuit season and you wanna look tight in all the right areas. I hear ya, but why? Why do people go above and beyond for how they want to look? Why do we think that a fit body will make everything better? When you actually obtain a goal you’ve been working for, are you happier with your life? When is enough enough? Do you care what’s going on inside your body? Where is your motivation for changing your body coming from?

To add context to this rant, I was at the gym today doing some foam rolling and eavesdropping in on a trainer and her female client that I had been hearing conversations from all morning around the gym. The basis of their conversations were as follows: the use of blood thinners by both of them (they both appeared to maybe be 30 years old), their inability to lose weight, autoimmune markers showing up in blood work that their doctors hadn’t yet addressed, and the desire to get smaller by summertime. For those of you that know me you know I can tend to be a “know-it-all” with a firm stance on one side or the other (I’m working on it, k?) and overhearing this conversation was making my brain melt.

I walked away wondering what the hell is going on. Why is the health of so many young people deteriorating and why are we not focused on it as a society? Why are all of these huge issues with people’s health (PCOS, metabolic syndrome, cancer, endometriosis, diabetes, autoimmune disease, depression, anxiety…) happening and the first thing someone wants to do is look good in a swim suit? I don’t freaking get it and I’m sick of it. I’m so sick of having the topic of so many conversations revolve around how to lose that last 5-10 pounds, how to finally get those abs to show through, or drop to a size __ (you fill in the blank). It amazed me that not once during my 15ish minutes of eavesdropping did I hear this trainer mention nutrition. Rather, they continued talking about the new facia blaster and how maybe that could blast the belly fat they wanted to rid themselves of.

To bring this rant full circle, overhearing this small but significant conversation just made me sad. It made me sad that our culture is so sick. That, for the most part, we don’t have access to adequate medical care that addresses the underlying causes of our diseases and ailments. It makes me sad that people care so much about how they look on the outside (thanks society) that they will gloss over the horrors going on inside of their bodies. That people will spend an hour+ in the gym daily and $90 on something that may or may not help you get rid of belly fat but can’t find a couple of hours a week to food prep and shell out the extra cash it takes to buy quality foods. There has got to be a shift on so many levels. In communities that I am apart of and follow, this shift is happening, but it needs to be happening everywhere. We, as a nation/society/culture need some serious education when it comes to our bodies and how to care for them in ways that are tailored to each one of us. WE, the people who seek care, need to demand changes from our insurance companies, doctors, healthcare providers, and the people that are getting paid to help us with all of our healthcare needs. We need to demand the same for our children as well.

Yes. I get that there is WAY more to what’s going on than what I’ve mentioned above but man, we need a shift in the biggest of ways.

Can I get an amen?

No?

Maybe a high-five?

Ok. Let’s move on.

MEATBALLS!

Let’s talk a little bit about meatballs and why I think you should make them. First off, they’re multifaceted. They can be put in spaghetti, put in a salad, eaten hot or cold. Made big or small. You can hide really nutritious things in meatballs and your family will NEVER know! (DJ, this is where you stop reading) You can share them or keep them all for yourself! So many good things about meatballs. So many reasons to make them. That’s why I want to share the meatball recipe I made for my family this week. A brief apology, until I can figure out how to develop a recipe and share it in a printable fashion, I’m just going rouge with it and writing it out here for ya.

This recipe makes roughly 18-20 meatballs that are about 1″ in diameter.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 pounds grass-fed ground beef, aim for 20% fat
  • 1/8 pound pastured chicken livers (you’ll want these slightly defrosted… I usually let mine sit out on the counter for an hour or so. also, if you want to know why you should be eating organ meats like liver, check out this link)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • couple shakes of turmeric
  • any other herbs, fresh or dry, that sound good
  • 2 Tbsp. coconut aminos
  • 2 Tbsp. cool water
  • cooking pan
  • food processor/blender
  • mixing bowl

What to do:

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit
  • Grab whatever you’re going to cook these in. I often will use a roasting pan, a cookie sheet with raised edges, a cake pan,  whatever you have that has raised edges and is big enough
  1. In your food processor or blender, take 1/8 pound of your semi-defrosted chicken livers and puree them until smooth.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine your ground beef and pureed liver together… I just use my hands.
  3. In a cup, combine water, coconut aminos, eggs and spices and mix well. Add this mixture to your beef/liver and blend well.
  4.  Form your meatballs 1″ in diameter and place on your baking tray/sheet/etc. You won’t need to oil/grease your pan because of the fat content of the beef.
  5. Once you’ve got all your meatballs formed, place in the oven for 15-18 minutes.
  6. Eat ’em up.

If you want to make these and aren’t sure where to source some of the ingredients, comment below and I’ll help you!

One thought on “Reflections, rants, problem areas, and meatballs!

Leave a Reply

